Welcome to the Baltic Contest 2020!


The 56th BALTIC CONTEST (2020)

General rules

The Lithuanian Radio Sports Federation has the honor to invite radio amateurs all over the world to enter 56th Baltic Contest 2020

The aim: to promote radio sport in the Baltic States and to expand relations among radio amateurs of the Baltic and the World.

The object: to establish as many contacts as possible with amateur stations worldwide.

Period: from 2100z May 23, 2020 till 0200z May 24, 2020 UTC


A – single operator, CW/SSB

B – single operator, CW

C – single operator, SSB

D – single operator, assisted, CW/SSB (new!)

E – multi operator, single TX


Any use of DX spotting networks (Skimmer, DX cluster, sked pages and etc.) for section A, B, C is not permitted. Only one transmitted signal is allowed at any time.

Frequencies: CW (3510-3600) kHz, SSB (3600-3750) kHz.

Exchange: RS(T) and serial number starting from 001. Each station may be worked once in SSB and once in CW.

Scoring: for participants in Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania: each QSO with Europe counts 1 point and QSO with another continent counts 2 points.

For participants in Europe: each QSO with Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania counts 10 points, each QSO with another participant counts 1 point.

For participants outside Europe: each QSO with ES, YL, LY counts 20 points, each QSO with another participant counts 1 point.

SWL report must contain both callsigns and at least one of the control numbers.

Final score: the sum of QSO points. When the number of points is equal, the criteria for priority are for better percentage of QSO confirmation; for more DX QSO.

Awards: certificates will be awarded to the leading stations of each section for every country (DXCC). Winners in A, B, C, D, E, F sections in the Baltic States (ES, LY, YL), in the Europe and outside Europe will receive originally designed medals.

Special trophies: (trophy/donor)

Europe MIX LP
S.Franckevičius LY4AA
Baltic States LP (less than 100W output) Estonian Amateur Radio Union
DX LP (less than 100W output) Latvian Radio Amateur League
North America M.Jukna LY4L
Europe CW LP
G. Lučinskas LY9A (R.Šaltauskas LY1Z Memorial)
Estonia Kaunas University of Technology Radio Club
Latvia R.Baltušis LY6A
Young lady
R. Žakelis LY5AA
Lithuanian young lady
M.Stern 4Z4KX (E. Laurušonis LY2NL Memorial)
Youth (until 16 years) J.Urbonas LY4T
Lithuania CW G.Lučinskas LY9A
Oldtimer Baltic States (more than 60 years old) Kaunas University of Technology Radio Club (A.Macas LY2OO Memorial)
Baltic States QRP (less than 5W output) Lithuanian Amateur Radio Society
Scandinavian countries Tonno Vahk ES5TV

NB: Only the operators who worked non-assisted will be eligible for the special trophy.

Logs: Deadline 3th June, 2020. Electronic logs should be uploaded using Log Uploader http://www.lrsf.lt/lt/bc-log-uploader/

If you have issues using the uploader, you can send your log to balticcontest@inbox.lt. Cabrillo file format is preferred. While sending your log via email, please indicate in the soapbox, if you want to receive paper or an electronic copy of the Baltic Contest booklet and diploma.

Paper logs should be mailed to LRSF, P. O. Box 210, Karaliaus Mindaugo pr. 49, LT-44333 Kaunas, Lithuania.

By submitting a log, you confirm that you comply with the contest rules and agree that your result will be published on LRSF website and in the Baltic Contest booklet.

The log MUST show the following information: callsign, name, age, entry, power, and QSO in chronological order. Each contact has to have correct time in GMT, frequency (or band), call, report with serial number sent, and report with serial number received. A log without all required information may be reclassified to checklog.

Disqualification: If any participant violates contest rules, referees’ committee can disqualify that participant.

Referee committee: Referee committee decision is final and indisputable.

If you wish to become a donor of a special trophy/a section winner trophy or to contribute to the Baltic Contest booklet – please contact us via email lrsf@lrsf.lt.


Baltic Contest committee